arcadiabritt

Knights’ Nook

In Uncategorized on October 26, 2008 at 1:26 am

Arcadia’s Own Miss Majestic answers ALL of your questions about love, life and the library!

Dear Ms. Majestic,
I don’t think Arcadia is for me. I thought this place was perfect when I came to visit last year but now, I’m not so sure. I don’t think I fit in. People here are very different from the people at home and I don’t think I’m ever gonna get used to it. I feel really awkward in my classes and the people on my hall are just different. What am I supposed to do? I don’t want to transfer because my classes are really awesome and I love my professors. The problem is just the people around me. I don’t fit in and I don’t know what to do about it.
Out of Place

Dear Out,
You poor thing. I can only imagine what you are going through and I wish there was an easy answer for what you’re dealing with. I’ll assume that you’re a first year student and of so, this is very typical of students like you. You feel like you don’t fit in because no one fits in. At college, you’ll find that everyone goes to the beat of their own drum. Some peoples’ drums beat in sync for different reasons and others don’t. And that’s ok! Don’t pressure yourself to fit in because then you’ll force yourself to be something other than what you are. I suggest you join a few clubs that interest you. At least you’ll have something in common with all of the people who are there. You may even make friends with some of the members and find time to hang out with them at other times. What ever you do, don’t force it. It’s still early in the semester and you have plenty of time!
Ms. Majestic

Dear Ms. Majestic,
I don’t think my professor likes me. From the first day of class I knew there was something peculiar about him but I didn’t know what it was. He seemed like a pretty friendly man but now that’s all changed. He always gives me these weird looks during class and my friends have seen it too. He grades my assignments really hard while he gives my friends all A’s for doing half the work. He never answers my emails or phone messages-which is really starting to annoy me. I’m at the point where I don’t wanna go to class anymore because he makes it impossible for me to deal with him. I don’t want to get a bad grade but I don’t think that I have control over that anymore. He’s horrible!
Pissed off

Dear Pissed,
Wow. I’ve had some difficult professors but none that sound like this. First, you shouldn’t give him any ammunition to use against you in the future so I suggest you go to each and every class. Be prepared and complete each assignment according to directions. Do all of the extra credit assignments and submit everything on time. If he really does have something against you, don’t give him anything to add to the problem. At the same time, if you feel like his behavior is out of line, try saying something to him. I understand that you may feel awkward doing this but that’s how mature people are supposed to handle situations like this-by talking it through. You could even have another faculty member present to help mediate. If all else fails, you have only have 6 more weeks left!
Ms. Majestic

Leave a Reply

