arcadiabritt

T.I. Has a Story to Tell With ‘Paper Trail’

In Uncategorized on October 30, 2008 at 1:38 am

ATL’s own T.I. is back at it again and, as one of the tracks off his album Paper Trail says, T.I. is “Ready For Whatever”. Recently, the rapper had a run-in with the law and even spent some time in prison for his crime. Now, “The King of the South” is trading his jailbird ways for a chance in the spotlight again. The highly anticipated album instantly was a hit, for hip-hop lovers realized that T.I. meant business. Some naysayer’s may have questioned the superstar’s comeback. But T.I. answers the haters with a banging revival of his new self and new album.

Immediately, as the album begins with the intro “56 Bars,” T.I. informs that the wait is over. Fans who have always nodded their heads to his lyrics were probably hoping that the southerner wouldn’t disappoint them. Well, T.I. makes it happen in sixteen songs, in which each stands on its own with a different message. The majority of the songs are T.I. reclaiming his “King of the South” throne by telling listeners “Don’t judge me” and “Put yourself in my position”. A prime example of his thoughts is track seven, “No Matter What”, which chants in the chorus, “I ain’t dead, I ain’t done, I ain’t scared, I ain’t run, but still I stand, no matter what”. T.I. reassures fans that he is a changed man, but he also makes it known that he can still keep it gangsta with songs like “I’m Illy” and “Every Chance I Get”. Paper Trail could be stamped as a celebration album, for the hip-hopper has much to be thankful for. With a new album, new start at life, it’s a new and improved T.I.

To add on to the greatness, the star-studded creation features music favorites. “Live Your Life”, featuring singer Rihanna, is a hot one off the album. As Rihanna belts “Just live your life, ain’t got no time for no haters, just live your life, no telling where it’ll take you, just live your life, cause I’m a paper chaser”. For all the paper chasers out there, you’ve got to love this track with the hot beat to match. T.I. keeps the star tracks going with songs including John Legend, Ludacris, Swizz Beats, Usher, and even Justin Timberlake makes an appearance on a song called “Dead and Gone”, which is hot! “No one on the corner has swagger like us” is a line from the song “Swagga Like Us”, which features some of the best rappers alive: Kanye West, Jay-Z, Lil Wayne, and T.I. himself. The line-up proves that the rappers possess much swagger, with some of M.I.A.’s “Paper Planes” lyrics adding to the ruggedness. The featured artists allow the album to reach major heights, which makes the album worth giving a listen to.

T.I.’s country grammar has earned him another hit album, filled with hit songs. The trail that T.I. is leaving, is leaving him with tons of paper in his pockets. So, give a listen to what he’s been waiting to say. T.I. wants you to snap your fingers to his head banger album and enjoy the sounds of his life. As the popular hit of T.I. says, you can have “Whatever You Like!”

Leave a Reply

