arcadiabritt

The Superbowl: From a chick’s perspective

In Uncategorized on February 5, 2009 at 5:19 pm

page5chicI’m not sure if there is any other annual American tradition that puts beer, lizards, and Doritos together like the Super Bowl. After watching the 43rd Super Bowl, I think I’ve turned a new leaf on life. I don’t need a job. I don’t need this Arcadia education. I don’t need food. I need the know-how to write and direct a 3 million dollar Super Bowl ad and I’ll be set for life.

It took me a few commercial breaks to realize that the game was the least important aspect but I did finally figure it out. I mean, besides the millions of fans who probably bought tickets to the game instead of paying their mortgage, no one seemed to be paying attention to the game once it got started. And in the beginning I started feeling bad for the teams, but once I realized that their salaries triple what my closest 50 friends will make in the next five years, I got over it.

Actually, I had double the fun watching the game—critiquing the commercials and watching the Steelers duke it out with the Cardinals. Before the game even started I was struck by the mini music video that Faith Hill had. I would really like to chase down whoever wrote the lyrics and scream ‘Why!’ into their face. She looked ridiculous and sounded even worse. Who thought that having a country music superstar sing the intro to the Super Bowl was a good idea? Hill made up for it when she sang America, the Beautiful but that doesn’t just count.

While I watched the game intently, I tried my luck at my football vocab. Yea, really bad idea. I remember calling a regular tackle a sack in the first quarter, asking what a false start was and trying to figure out why one field goal was worth three points. I always thought they were worth one…turns out that’s only after a touchdown. I was kind of thrown for a loop when I saw one player in this Count Dracula get-up, decked out with the wide collar and all. I still haven’t figured out what the hell that was for.

I can tell you that I paid close attention, well as much as my brain would allow, to the actual game. I saw Pittsburgh get that touchdown taken away in the first quarter. And I saw Arizona miss and/or drop the ball more times than deemed acceptable. I was definitely watching when 92 of the Steelers ran 100 yards and scored a touchdown. It was like watching a really good romantic comedy and the girl finally gets the guy. I felt all warm and fuzzy inside. Unfortunately, I watched Pittsburgh get too damn comfy and left the Cardinals come back a little, but I enjoyed watching them take back the victory in the last minute and 56 seconds. Almost as good as finding a great pair of shoes on clearance in your size. Might actually be better…its debatable.

At the end of the four and a half hour ordeal, I stopped sweating but remained confused. For some odd reason, I couldn’t pick my favorite commercial. I was so used to watching them online that I did not realized how much the momentum of the game changes how you receive the commercials. Although I thought all of the Bud, Pepsi and Doritos commercials were supreme, I’ll declare here, on this page, that my favorite was the Bridgestone ad with the astronauts landing on the moon and getting stranded. Something about two astronauts shaking their groove things that really gets to me!

Leave a Reply

